Cyprus has completed over 45 Double Tax Treaties up to today and is also in negotiations with many countries for signing Treaties with them.

The main purpose of Double Taxation Treaties is to avoid the International Double Taxation when the same profits of a legal person or of an individual are taxed in two or more countries. As a result of the Double Taxation Treaties International Businesses are traded with stability and certainty. This is also the main reason why the Cyprus double tax treaties constitute an important tool for International Tax Planning and give important advantage to the countries which sign such Treaties.

The countries with which Cyprus has Double Taxation Treaties are the following:

1. Azerbaijan*** 26. Lithuania
2. Armenia*** 27. Moldavia
3. Austria 28. Montenegro*
4. Belarus 29. Norway
5. Bulgaria 30. Poland
6. Belgium 31. Qatar
7. Canada 32. Russia
8. China 33. Romania
9. Czech Republic** 34. San Marino
10. Denmark 35. Serbia*
11. France 36. Singapore
12. Egypt 37. Seychelles
13. Germany 38. South Africa
14. Greece 39. Slovakia**
15. Hungary 40. Slovenia*
16. India 41. Sweden
17. Ireland 42. Switzerland
18. Italy 43. Syria
19. Kuwait 44. Thailand
20. Kyrgyzstan*** 45. Tajikistan***
21. Lebanon 46. United Kingdom
22. Malta 47. USA
23. Mauritius 48. Uzbekistan***
24. Latvia 49. Ukraine***
25. Spain

* The treaty between Cyprus and the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia is still in force.

** The treaty between Cyprus and the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic is still in force. The said treaty has ceased to apply between Cyprus and Czech Republic as from 1.1.2010, date of application of the provision of the new agreement.

***The treaty between Cyprus and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics is still in force.

For detailed analysis in respect of Cyprus double tax treaties withholding tax rates, please download our Fact Sheet No.2. CYPRUS DOUBLE TAX TREATIES – WITHHOLDING TAX RATES.